The Telehealth Registry online application is currently under construction. This text will change and a link will be provided once applications are being accepted.
Telepractice / Telehealth
Telehealth practice is a policy area experiencing rapid change, and anyone interested in practicing in this manner into Arizona should seek the counsel of an attorney.
If you are an Arizona licensed psychologist/behavior analyst, it is your responsibility to know the law under which you are authorized to practice. The language within the Board's chapters can be found on the Board's website under the Statutes and Rules tab, above. Title 36, Chapter 36 of the Arizona revised statutes prescribes other requirements. This may, or may not, constitute a complete list of requirements to practice via telehealth. Please seek the advice of an attorney.
If inquiring whether you are able to provide psychological or behavior analytic services via telehealth into another state, please contact that jurisdiction's licensing board/entity as laws and regulations vary from state to state. If a psychologist or BCBA is currently residing in Arizona and practicing telehealth into another state, there is no Arizona statute or rule that requires the psychologist or BCBA to be licensed in Arizona.
STATE OF EMERGENCY TEMPORARY LICENSE
- If your employer, malpractice insurance carrier, a client's health insurance, etc. requires you to hold a license to treat an Arizona client, a temporary license is available. Please go to the COVID-19 ADVISORY page for information and to download the application. Please email applications to [email protected]. Note: Processing time is 2-3 weeks for temporary licenses. There is no fee for the emergency temporary license. It will expire the same date the Governor of Arizona declares the state of emergency due to COVID-19 at an end.
Exemption Statute - A.R.S. Section 32-2075(A)(4)
- If you are not licensed in Arizona and are inquiring about providing psychological services in or into Arizona for an Arizona client during the state of emergency, please note the Board has waived the 20-day limitation regarding exemption from licensure in A.R.S. § 32-2075(A)(4) for the duration of the state of emergency. You are responsible to maintain adequates records and will be expected to provide a copy to the Board in the event of a complaint.
- The exemption statute is not limited to telepractice. It is also applicable to psychologists licensed in another state who are in Arizona short-term.
- A.A.C. R4-26-101(B)(13) defines "day" in the above referenced statute as "8 hours", allowing psychologists to tally hours and minutes rather than days. Psychologists practicing under the exemption statute in or into Arizona should count both direct and indirect hours providing psychological services for an Arizona-based client in their tally of hours.
PSYPACT Effective July 1 2020: The Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB) has announced PSYPACT is now live and applications to practice under PSYPACT are officially open. For more information and to apply please visit PSYPACT.