

KATIE HOBBS Governor STATE OF ARIZONA BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGIST EXAMINERS 1740 WEST ADAMS STREET, SUITE 3403 PHOENIX, AZ 85007 PH: 602.542.8162 FX: 602.926.8095 WEBSITE: www.psychboard.az.gov

> HEIDI HERBST PAAKKONEN, M.P.A. Executive Director

#### **Regular Session Meeting Minutes**

Held virtually via Zoom on December 21, 2022

Board Members Diana Davis-Wilson, DBH, BCBA – Chair Bryan Davey, Ph.D., BCBA-D – Vice-Chair Linda Caterino, Ph.D., ABPP – Secretary Aditya Dynar, Esq. Diana Medina, Ph.D. Matthew A. Meier, Psy.D. Ramona N. Mellott, Ph.D. Tamara Shreeve, MPA Joseph Stewart, Ed.D. Todd Wynn, M.A.

#### 1. CALL TO ORDER

Chairwoman Davis-Wilson called the Board's meeting to order at 8:33 a.m.

#### 2. ROLL CALL

The following Board members participated in the virtual meeting: Chairwoman Davis-Wilson, Dr. Caterino, Dr. Medina, Dr. Meier, Dr. Mellott, Ms. Shreeve, Dr. Stewart and Mr. Wynn. The following Board members were not present in the virtual meeting: Dr. Davey and Mr. Dynar.

#### ALSO PRESENT

The following Board staff participated in the virtual meeting: Heidi Herbst Paakkonen, Executive Director; Jennifer Michaelsen, Deputy Director; Jeanne Galvin, Assistant Attorney General; and Kathy Fowkes, Licensing Specialist.

#### 3. CONSENT AGENDA - DISCUSSION, CONSIDERATION, AND POSSIBLE ACTION

Those wishing to address the Board do not need to request permission in advance; however, the Board may limit those persons speaking during this time to a reasonable number on any public comment matter. In addition, each person wishing to address the Board will be given five (5) minutes to do so. Pursuant to A.R.S. § 38-431.02(H), the Board can only take action on matters listed on the agenda.

Any item under consent may be removed by a board member for independent discussion and action.

#### A. DISCUSSION/DECISION REGARDING PSYCHOLOGIST APPLICATIONS

### al 4a 64 for the EDDD ( A D 6 66 22 2071 2071 01 6 2072)

Requ	uesting Approval to Sit for the EPPP (A.R.S. §	§ 32-2071, 2071.01 & 2072)
1)	Michael Marshall, Psy.D. (REAPP)	Part 2 Only (Passed Part 1)
Requ	uesting Approval to Sit for EPPP & Licensure	(A.R.S. §§ 32-2071, 2071.01 & 2072)
1)	Brittany Burdick, Psy.D.	Parts 1 & 2
2)	Naudia Jakubowski, Psy.D. (REAPP)	Parts 1 & 2
3)	Carter Alexander Pearl, Psy.D. (REAPP)	Part 2 Only (Passed Part 1)
4)	Colette Wilcoxen, Psy.D. (REAPP)	Parts 1 & 2
5)	Veronica Poore, Psy.D. (REAPP)	Part 2 Only (Passed Part 1)
6)	Lori Shirk, Psy.D. (REAPP)	Parts 1 & 2
7)	Nicole Lebowitz, Psy.D. (REAPP)	Parts 1 & 2
9)	Summer Boyd, Psy.D.	Part 2 Only (Passed Part 1)
10)	Kayla Jarred, Psy.D. (REAPP)	Part 2 Only (Passed Part 1)
11)	Rachel Elizabeth Jensen, Ph.D.	Parts 1 & 2
Requ	uesting Approval of Supervised Experience for	<sup>.</sup> Licensure (A.A.C. R4-26-203.02(D))
1)	Natalia Kazakova, Psy.D.	Passed Parts 1 & 2
Requ	uesting Approval for Temporary Licensure and	to Sit for the EPPP (A.R.S. §§ 32-2072 & 2073)
1)	Catherine Van Damme, Psy.D.	Parts 1 & 2
2)	Indra Abril Gonzalez Juarez, Psy.D.	n/a (not seeking approval to take EPPP)
Requ	uesting Approval for Licensure by Universal R	Recognition (A.R.S. § 32-4302)
1)	Scott Kopoian, Ph.D.	n/a
2)	Richard LaMacchia Ph.D.	n/a
Requ	uesting Approval for Telehealth Registration (	A.R.S. § 36-3606)
1)	Cory Benjamin-Davis, Psy.D.	n/a
	Cory Denjamin Davis, i Sy.D.	12.0

#### **B. DISCUSSION/DECISION REGARDING POSTDOCTORAL WRITTEN TRAINING PLAN MODIFICATION FROM JEFFREY SIMMONS, PSY.D.**

Dr. Meier announced that he is recused from item 3.B.

#### MOTION: Ms. Shreeve moved to approve the Consent Agenda.

**SECOND: Dr. Stewart.** 

VOTE: Chairwoman Davis-Wilson, Dr. Caterino, Dr. Medina, Dr. Meier, Dr. Mellott, Ms. Shreeve, Dr. Stewart and Mr. Wynn.

VOTE: 8-yay, 0-nay, 0-abstain, 0-recuse. MOTION PASSED.

## 4. DISCUSSION, CONSIDERATION AND POSSIBLE ACTION REGARDING APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE BY WAIVER FROM OKSANA SKLYAROV BLANKENSHIP, PSY.D.

Dr. Mellott summarized the content of the application, noting that during the review by the Application Review Committee, the file was lacking only one of the applicant's references. Board staff confirmed the file before the Board now contains that document.

### MOTION: Dr. Mellott moved to approve the application granting licensure to Dr. Sklyarov Blankenship. SECOND: Dr. Caterino.

**VOTE:** Chairwoman Davis-Wilson, Dr. Caterino, Dr. Medina, Dr. Meier, Dr. Mellott, Ms. Shreeve, Dr. Stewart and Mr. Wynn.

VOTE: 8-yay, 0-nay, 0-abstain, 0-recuse. MOTION PASSED.

#### 5. DISCUSSION, CONSIDERATION AND POSSIBLE ACTION REGARDING APPLICATION TO SIT FOR THE EPPP AND LICENSURE UPON A PASSING SCORE FROM KEVIN ZALIZNIAK, PH.D.

Dr. Mellott summarized the content of the application, noting that the review by the Application Review Committee found Dr. Zalizniak to have disclosed some health issues and a related criminal history. Accordingly, Ms. Galvin stated, the Committee is forwarding a recommendation to the Board that Dr. Zalizniak be issued an interim order to complete an evaluation to discern whether he is able to practice psychology safely.

# MOTION: Dr. Meier moved to meet in Executive Session to discuss confidential health information. SECOND: Ms. Shreeve.

**VOTE:** Chairwoman Davis-Wilson, Dr. Caterino, Dr. Medina, Dr. Meier, Dr. Mellott, Ms. Shreeve, Dr. Stewart and Mr. Wynn.

VOTE: 8-yay, 0-nay, 0-abstain, 0-recuse. MOTION PASSED.

The Board met in Executive Session from 8:38 a.m. to 8:51 a.m.

Upon returning from Executive Session the Board resumed the review of Dr. Zalizniak' application.

MOTION: Dr. Mellott moved to approve the application granting licensure to Dr. Zalizniak. SECOND: Dr. Meier. VOTE: Chairwoman Davis-Wilson, Dr. Caterino, Dr. Medina, Dr. Meier, Dr. Mellott, Ms. Shreeve, Dr. Stewart and Mr. Wynn.

VOTE: 8-yay, 0-nay, 0-abstain, 0-recuse. MOTION PASSED.

#### 6. ADJOURNMENT

MOTION: Dr. Stewart. SECOND: Ms. Shreeve. VOTE: Chairwoman Davis-Wilson, Dr. Caterino, Dr. Medina, Dr. Meier, Dr. Mellott, Ms. Shreeve, Dr. Stewart and Mr. Wynn. VOTE: 8-yay, 0-nay, 0-abstain, 0-recuse. MOTION PASSED. The meeting adjourned at 8:53 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Linda C. Caterina PhD, ABPP

Linda C. Caterino, Ph.D., ABPP Secretary