

STATE OF ARIZONA BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGIST EXAMINERS 1740 WEST ADAMS STREET, SUITE 3403

PHOENIX, AZ 85007

PH: 602.542.8162 FX: 602.926.8095

WEBSITE: www.psychboard.az.gov

HEIDI HERBST PAAKKONEN, M.P.A. Executive Director

Regular Session Meeting Minutes

Held virtually via Zoom on December 13, 2023

Board Members

Aditya Dynar, Esq. – Chair, Secretary Bryan Davey, Ph.D., BCBA-D Linda Caterino, Ph.D., ABPP Donald Stenhoff, Ph.D., BCBA-D Diana Medina, Ph.D. Ramona N. Mellott, Ph.D. Joseph Stewart, Ed.D. Todd Wynn, M.A.

Board Staff

Heidi Herbst Paakkonen, M.P.A., Executive Director Jennifer Michaelsen, M.P.A., Deputy Director Krishna Poe, Program Projects Specialist Kathy Fowkes, Psychologist Licensing Specialist Zakiya Mallas, Behavior Analyst Licensing Specialist

Board Attorney

Jeanne Galvin, Assistant Attorney General

1. CALL TO ORDER

Dr. Davey called the meeting to order at 12:02 p.m.

2. ROLL CALL

The following Board members participated in the virtual meeting: Dr. Davey, Mr. Dynar, Dr. Flint, Dr. Medina, Dr. Stenhoff, and Dr. Stewart.

ALSO PRESENT

The following Board staff participated in the virtual meeting: Heidi Herbst Paakkonen, Executive Director; Jennifer Michaelsen, Deputy Director; and Jeanne Galvin, Assistant Attorney General.

3. DISCUSSION, CONSIDERATION AND POSSIBLE ACTION REGARDING PERFORMANCE APPRAISAL FOR EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND POSSIBLE SALARY ADJUSTMENT

The Board may vote to go into Executive Session on any item on the agenda, pursuant to A.R.S. § 38-431.03(A)(1), to review personnel matters, and/or A.R.S. § 38-431.03(A)(3), to receive confidential legal advice from the Board's attorney.

The Board posed to Ms. Galvin some procedural questions to which she provided legal guidance.

MOTION: Dr. Davey moved for the Board to move to Executive Session to conduct the performance appraisal of the Executive Director and to discuss a possible salary adjustment. SECOND: Dr. Medina.

VOTE: The following Board members voted in favor of the motion: Dr. Davey, Mr. Dynar, Dr. Flint, Dr. Medina, Dr. Stenhoff, and Dr. Stewart. VOTE: 6-yay, 0-nay, 0-abstain, 0-recuse. MOTION PASSED.

The Board met in Executive Session at 12:07 p.m. and resumed open session at 12:16 p.m.

Upon resuming the meeting in public session, the Board commended Ms. Paakkonen for her leadership and management skills. The commentary reflected that her performance exceeds expectations and performance metrics. The Board noted that her attention to public policy developments is very valuable to the Board. It was noted that she exhibits grace under pressure and supports the Board while fostering its ability to make difficult decisions that require implementation by her and by staff. The Board acknowledged the innovations that have been leveraged using data and creative solutions, and the responsiveness with which she assists Board members, including making complex issues easier to understand and to resolve.

MOTION: Dr. Davey moved for the Board to implement the action that is reflected in the Executive Session discussion.

SECOND: Dr. Medina.

VOTE: The following Board members voted in favor of the motion: Dr. Davey, Mr. Dynar, Dr.

Flint, Stenhoff, Dr. Medina, Dr. Stenhoff, and Dr. Stewart.

VOTE: 6-yay, 0-nay, 0-abstain, 0-recuse.

MOTION PASSED.

Ms. Paakkonen thanked the Board for its support and for acknowledging the extraordinary efforts of Board staff. She also thanked the Board members for placing their collective trust in her for which she is grateful. She asked that if the Board ever perceives that she is steering the agency in the wrong direction, it redirects her. Ms. Paakkonen expressed her sense of privilege to be in a position to serve the Board and to be a public servant, and she reminded the Board she had many more goals and objectives that she hopes to achieve.

Ms. Galvin advised that from this point, Dr. Davey can meet with Ms. Paakkonen and provide her with direction in terms of implementing the Board's actions and executing the required steps.

4. ADJOURNMENT

MOTION: Dr. Stewart moved for the Board to adjourn the meeting.

SECOND: Mr. Dynar.

VOTE: The following Board members voted in favor of the motion: Dr. Davey, Mr. Dynar, Dr.

Flint, Stenhoff, Dr. Medina, Dr. Stenhoff, and Dr. Stewart.

VOTE: 6-yay, 0-nay, 0-abstain, 0-recuse.

MOTION PASSED.

The meeting concluded at 12:27 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Joseph Stewart, Ed.D.

Secretary