
Arizona Board of Psychologist Examiners 

Substantive Policy Statement SP.02-16 

This substantive policy statement is advisory only. A substantive policy statement 

does not include internal procedural documents that only affect the internal procedures of 

the agency and does not impose additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties 

or include confidential information or rules made in accordance with the Arizona 

Administrative Procedures Act. If you believe that this substantive policy statement does 

impose additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties, you may petition the 

agency under Arizona Revised Statutes § 41-1033 for a review of the statement. 

 
Interpretation of A.A.C. R4-26-409(D)(4) Pertaining to 

Carry Over of Continuing Education Credits for Behavior Analysis 
 
All licenses for behavior analysis will expire on April 30, 2017.  Pursuant to 

A.R.S. §32-2091.07 (Version 2, effective 5/1/2017), all licensees will move to an 

individual license expiration date based on birth month and license number.  In early 

2017, licensees will be informed by the Board of their new license expiration dates, 

amount of prorated licensing fee, as well as the prorated number of continuing education 

credits that must be completed by the new expiration date.  The prorated licensing fee 

must be paid by April 30, 2017, and all licensees must complete 30 hours of continuing 

education by April 30, 2017.  Prorated continuing education credits must be completed 

by the new license expiration date and a fee of $500 is due by the new expiration date. 

This substantive policy statement applies only to the prorated number of continuing 

education credits required for the transition to the new expiration date (i.e., the 2017 through 

2019 renewal cycle).  The amount of transition time will vary by licensee from one month to 



twenty-four months.  The Board recognizes that the transition is unfamiliar to licensees and 

recognizes that some licensees will have a short interval between the April 30, 2017, expiration 

date and their new expiration dates.  For those reasons, and for this transition period only, the 

Board will permit licensees to carry over up to 10 continuing education credits earned above and 

beyond the 30 continuing education credits required for the current license period (May 1, 2015, 

through April 30, 2017).  No continuing education hours earned after April 30, 2017, and that are 

in addition to the required 30 hours, may be applied to subsequent renewal cycles.   

All continuing education credits must meet the requirements of A.A.C. R4-26-409.   

 

 

 


