9. I MISSED MY RENEWAL DEADLINE. WHAT DO I DO NOW?

If you wish to maintain your license in Arizona and you are submitting your renewal within two months of your license expiration deadline, you can submit the renewal application, the renewal fee (\$500.00 for active status and \$85.00 for inactive status) and the \$200.00 reinstatement fee.

A licensee whose license is on inactive status cannot reinstate an expired license if more than two months has passed since the licensee's license expiration deadline. If it is more than two months passed, and no more than one year passed, your license expiration deadline and your license was on active status, you can reinstate your expired

expiration deadline and your license was on active status, you can reinstate your expired license by submitting the current renewal, the \$500.00 active status fee, the \$200.00 reinstatement fee and 40 hours of continuing education documentation. Please note that reinstatement requests that are two or more months passed the licensee's license expiration deadline must be reviewed and approved by the Board.

10. DO YOU HAVE AN ONLINE RENEWAL APPLICATION?

Yes, the Board offers an online renewal application. You can find the portal on the Board website's home page, in the column on the right, choose "ONLINE APPLICATION PORTAL: Online Psychologist Applications and PSY or BA License Renewal Fees".

Under New Users, choose, "I Have a License". Choosing this option means that you are in the database already. If you have never used the online portal you'll need a security code to log in for the first time. You can call our office at 602-542-8162, to obtain your security code. If staff is not available to answer you may leave a message and a Board staff person will return your call.

F. BEHAVIOR ANALYST RENEWAL FOR ACTIVE LICENSES, INACTIVE LICENSES, REINSTATEMENT OF EXPIRED LICENSES AND REACTIVATION OF INACTIVE LICENSES

It is recommended that you review the Board's renewal requirements which can be found on the Board's website, https://psychboard.az.gov, under the "Statutes and Rules" tab. Specifically, A.R.S. §32-2091.07 pertains to behavior analyst renewal. A.R.S. §32-2091.06 and R4-26-411 pertains to reactivating inactive status licenses to active status.

1. HOW DO I KNOW WHEN MY LICENSE EXPIRES?

If you have an odd numbered license then your license will expire on the last day of your birth month in every odd numbered year.

If you have an even numbered license then your license will expire on the last day of your birth month in every even numbered year.

You will receive a reminder approximately 60 days prior to your renewal deadline. You may receive the reminder via email or USPS. Please be sure to keep your email and mailing addresses up to date with the Board as the Board sends correspondence to the last known address.

2. WHEN CAN I SUBMIT MY RENEWAL?

You can submit your renewal 60 days before your license expiration deadline. If the Board office receives a renewal that is more than 60 days from the license expiration deadline the renewal will be returned to the licensee.

3. WHAT IS THE COST TO RENEW MY LICENSE?

If you have an active license the fee is \$500.00

If you have an inactive license the fee is \$85.00

4. I WOULD LIKE TO MAINTAIN MY LICENSE IN ARIZONA BUT I AM CURRENTLY NOT PRACTICING IN ARIZONA. WHAT ARE MY OPTIONS?

Arizona offers an inactive status license. Licensee's that have an inactive license are agreeing to not practice in Arizona during the time that their license is on inactive status.

5. HOW DO I PLACE MY LICENSE ON INACTIVE STATUS?

If you no longer intend to practice in Arizona but wish to maintain your Arizona license you can place your license on inactive status. You can do so by completing the current renewal application. You can find the renewal application on the Board's website, https://psychboard.az.gov, under the "Forms" tab/renewal forms. On the renewal application there is an inactive status option. You must submit the \$85.00 inactive status fee with the renewal application – even if you just renewed your license on active status.

6. MY LICENSE IS ON INACTIVE STATUS. DO I STILL NEED TO RENEW MY LICENSE EVERY TWO YEARS?

Yes, if you wish to maintain your license in Arizona you must renew your license every two years regardless of the status.

7. MY LICENSE IS ON INACTIVE STATUS. AM I STILL REQUIRED TO OBTAIN CONTINUING EDUCATION?

No, inactive licensees are not required to obtain continuing education and will not be part of the Board's random continuing education audit. Please be advised that if you wish to reactivate your license to active status you will be required to submit documentation of continuing education with your reactivation request (see below).

8. MY LICENSE IS ON INACTIVE STATUS. HOW DO I REACTIVATE MY LICENSE TO ACTIVE STATUS?

In order to practice in Arizona you must have an active license. To reactivate your license to active status you must complete the current renewal application, submit the \$500.00 active status fee and submit documentation of your continuing education.

If you have been on inactive status <u>for two or more years</u> you must submit a minimum of 30 hours of continuing education (4 of those hours must be in ethics).

If you have been on inactive status <u>for less than two years</u> you are required to submit a prorated amount of continuing education. To calculate the prorated amount of continuing education you multiply 1.25 by the number of whole months that your license was on inactive status.

Please be advised that reactivation requests must be reviewed and approved by the Board therefore it is recommended that you submit your request a few months in advance of when you need your license reactivated.

9. I MISSED MY RENEWAL DEADLINE. WHAT DO I DO NOW?

If you wish to maintain your license in Arizona and you are submitting your renewal within two months of your license expiration deadline, you can submit the renewal application, the renewal fee (\$500.00 for active status and \$85.00 for inactive status) and the \$200.00 reinstatement.

A licensee whose license is on inactive status cannot reinstate an expired license if more than two months has passed since the licensee's license expiration deadline.

If it is two months passed, and no more than one year passed, your license expiration deadline and your license was on active status, you can reinstate your expired license by submitting the current renewal, the \$500.00 active status fee, the \$200.00 reinstatement fee and 40 hours of continuing education documentation. Please note that reinstatement requests that are two or more months passed the licensee's license expiration deadline must be reviewed and approved by the Board.

10. DO YOU HAVE AN ONLINE APPLICATION?

Yes, the Board offers an online renewal application. You can find the portal on the Board website's home page, in the column on the right, choose "ONLINE APPLICATION PORTAL: Online Psychologist Applications and PSY or BA License Renewal Fees".

Under New Users, choose, "I Have a License". If you have never used the online portal you'll need a security code to log in for the first time. You can call our office at 602-542-

8162, to obtain your security code. If staff is not available to answer you may leave a message and a Board staff person will return your call.

G. FILING A CLAIM OR COMPLAINT AGAINST A PSYCHOLOGIST

If you are contemplating filing a Claim or a Complaint against a psychologist it is recommended that you review Board statutes. Specifically, A.R.S. §32-2061(16) pertains to unprofessional conduct. Additionally, you may wish to review the American Psychological Associations Ethical Principles of Psychologists and Code of Conduct. A.R.S. §32-2081 pertains to Complaint/Claim procedures

1. THE PSYCHOLOGIST CONDUCTED COURT ORDERED SERVICES. DO I FILE A CLAIM OR A COMPLAINT?

Pursuant to A.R.S. 32-2081(C) you must submit a Claim:

A claim of unprofessional conduct brought on or after July 3, 2015 against a psychologist arising out of court-ordered services shall be independently reviewed by three members of the board, including a public member. Each of the three board members who are reviewing the claim shall independently provide the board's executive director a recommendation indicating whether the member believes there is merit to open an investigation. If one or more of the board members who are reviewing the claim determine that there is merit to open an investigation as a complaint, an investigation shall be opened and shall follow the complaint process pursuant to this article.

You can find the Claim form on the Board's website, https://psychboard.az.gov, under the "Forms" tab/General Forms. It is very important to submit all of the information/documentation that is requested on the Claim form. The more information/documentation submitted, the better.

The Claims process could take one to two months to be completed. The psychologist is not notified of the Claim process until after the process is completed. If a Claim is closed (not opened as a Complaint) the psychologist is not notified of who filed the Claim. If the Claim is opened as a Complaint, the Claim is sent to the psychologist for a response. The person filing the Claim will receive correspondence from the Board office after the review of the Claim has been completed.

Please be advised that the Board does not have the authority to overturn a Court ruling.

2. THE SERVICES PROVIDED WERE NOT COURT ORDERED. HOW DO I FILE A COMPLAINT?

You can find the Complaint form on the Board's website, https://psychboard.az.gov, under the "Forms" tab/General Forms. It is recommended that you submit any and all information/documentation that you believe is relevant to the Complaint. The more information/documentation submitted, the better.

The Complaint process can be a lengthy process. Once the Complaint is received by the Board office, Board staff will notify the Complainant and the Licensee. The Licensee is given 30 days to respond to the Complaint. A Licensee may request an extension of time to respond to the