The Telehealth Registry online application is currently under construction. This text will change and a link will be provided once applications are being accepted.
Arizona is a PSYPACT state. The Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB) is accepting applications to practice under PSYPACT. PSYPACT authorizes licensed psychologists to provide psychological services via telepractice (APIT) and/or temporary practice up to 30 days (e.passport) into 30 states. For more information and to apply please visit PSYPACT.
Telehealth practice is a policy area experiencing rapid change, and anyone interested in practicing in this manner into Arizona should seek the counsel of an attorney.
If you are an Arizona licensed psychologist/behavior analyst, it is your responsibility to know the law under which you are authorized to practice. The language within the Board's chapters can be found on the Board's website under the Statutes and Rules tab, above. Title 36, Chapter 36 of the Arizona revised statutes prescribes other requirements. This may, or may not, constitute a complete list of requirements to practice via telehealth. Please seek the advice of an attorney.
If inquiring whether you are able to provide psychological or behavior analytic services via telepractice into another state, please contact that jurisdiction's licensing board/entity as laws and regulations vary from state to state. If a psychologist or BCBA is currently residing in Arizona and practicing telehealth into another state, there is no Arizona statute or rule that requires the psychologist or BCBA to be licensed in Arizona.
- If you are licensed as a psychologist in another state or Canadian province and are inquiring about providing psychological services in or into Arizona for an Arizona client, please note, A.R.S. § 32-2075(A)(4) allows you to practice in or into Arizona for up to 20 days per calendar year. You are responsible to maintain adequates records and will be expected to provide a copy to the Board in the event of a complaint.
- A.A.C. R4-26-101(B)(13) defines "day" in the above referenced statute as "eight  hours", allowing psychologists to tally hours and minutes rather than days. Psychologists practicing under the exemption statute in or into Arizona should count both direct and indirect hours providing psychological services for an Arizona-based client in their tally of hours.
- The exemption statute is not limited to telepractice. It is also applicable to psychologists licensed in another state who are in Arizona to provide psychological services short-term.
- If you are licensed in another state as a behavior analyst and are inquiring about providing behavior analytic services in or into Arizona for an Arizona client, please note A.R.S. § 32-2091.08 allows you to practice in or into Arizona for up to 20 days per calendar year. You are responsible to maintain adequate records and will be expected to provide a copy to the Board in the event of a complaint.
- Whether a behavior analyst licensed in another state provides behavior analytic services in or into Arizona for 1 hour a day or 8 hours a day, the tally is one calendar day.
- Please note, BCBA certification is NOT a license. It validates that you have the minimum knowledge and skills for your profession. It does not authorize the practice of behavior analysis in Arizona. If you are practicing behavior analysis in a state that does not offer licensure and you do not hold a license from a state licensing board, you do not meet the criteria for temporary practice in or into Arizona under this exemption statute.
- A supervisor must be licensed in Arizona to provide supervision, including remote supervision, of an unlicensed individual providing behavior analytic services in Arizona.
- The exemption statute is not limited to telepractice. It is also applicable to behavior analysts licensed in another state who are in Arizona to provide behavior analytic services short-term.
State Of Emergency Temporary License
- On March 30, 2022, Governor Doug Ducey declared the state of emergency due to Covid-19 at an end. All temporary licenses issued during the state of emergency will expire on January 1, 2023. The Board continues to issue the emergency temporary licenses through September 30, 2022. To see the Directory of emergency temporary licenses and to download an application, visit About > Covid-19 Advisory page.