As of January 17, 2023, all applications (and reapplications) for psychologists are now available online! The Board no longer accepts PDF and paper applications. If you have a PDF in process and have not yet submitted it, please use it as reference for your online application. Set up your account via the Applicant Portal to get started.
Staff cannot give time to questions that are answered on the website or in staff's automated reply emails. Please use the Table of Contents below to review information and resources related to applying for the EPPP and/or psychologist licensure in Arizona. Any emails to staff relative to how to apply for licensure will be responded to with a link back to this page and an advisory that Board staff cannot advise what type of application for you to make.
Table of Contents:
- Online Applicant Portal - Please use Chrome on a desktop or laptop computer. Other browsers and mobile devices are not compatible and may result in errors.
- Where Do I Start?
- What are the Three Pathways to Apply for a Psychologist License in Arizona?
- Details: Psychologist Application for Exam and/or Licensure (application now online)
- Forms for Psychology Applications such as verifications, core program requirements, statement of citizenship, etc.
- Details: Psychologist Application for Licensure by Credential (application now online)
- Details: Psychologist Application for Licensure by Universal Recognition (application now online)
- Details: Telehealth Registry
- Instructions and List of Materials Needed for Online Applications
- Overview of Psychologist Applications Process
- Tips About the Application Process
- Application for Fee Waiver
Psychologist Application for Exam and/or Licensure (Online Application) - $350
You do not have to live in Arizona to be licensed in Arizona with this application. If you do not qualify for licensure by Universal Recognition or Credential, use this application to apply to sit for the EPPP and/or for licensure as a psychologist.
High level overview of minimum requirements to qualify for licensure using this application:
- Hold a doctorate in an applied (health service delivery) psychology (A.R.S. § 32-2071(A)-(D)) If your doctoral degree is in general psychology or other subject, A.R.S. § 32-2071(L) provides requirements for respecialization in an applied psychology doctoral program. RESIDENCY WAIVER FOR PSYCHOLOGIST LICENSURE APPLICANTS: Laws 2021, Chapter 210 temporarily waives the licensure requirements established at A.R.S. § 32-2071(A)(5) and (K) for psychology program graduates with degree completion dates between February 1, 2021 through September 1, 2023.
- 3,000 hours of supervised experience (A.R.S. § 32-2071(D))
- a minimum of 1,500 hours of internship; the internship must be an integral part of the doctoral program and credit for it given on the official transcript (A.R.S. § 32-2071(F))
- an additional 1,500 hours of supervised experience (any combination of preinternship/practicum, additional internship and/or postdoctoral supervised experience hours) (A.R.S. § 32-2071(E)-(H))
- Pass the EPPP (Part 1 only per the Board's decision on 02/10/2023) (A.R.S. § 32-2072). The EPPP requirement may be waived for applicants who hold a full, unrestricted license in another state or province and have their score transferred from ASPPB to the Arizona Board.
Use this application if your professional status fits into one or more of the following categories:
- If you have had your doctoral degree in an applied psychology conferred, completed 1,500 hours supervised internship experience, and are seeking approval to take the Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP Part 1-Knowledge), or
- If you have completed the above, and in addition, have completed 1,500 hours of pre-internship and/or postdoctoral supervised experience(s), are not licensed in another state or Canadian province, and are seeking approval to take the EPPP and obtain Licensure in Arizona, or
- If you have passed the EPPP Part 1 and are seeking Licensure in Arizona, or
- If you have passed EPPP Part 1 and are already licensed in another state, you wish to become licensed in Arizona but do not hold a credential recognized by the Arizona Board and do not qualify to be licensed by universal recognition.
Other Resources for Exam and/or Licensure Application
- For declaration questions in the online application, if the answer is "yes", appropriate documentation is required. Please see the PDF "Appropriate Documentation for "Yes" Answers" for a list of the associated documentation or evidence that the applicant must submit to the Board if the applicant’s answer to a declaration question is “yes”.
- FAQ-How can I determine if a non-APA accredited doctoral program leads to licensure in Arizona?
- Statutes and Rules Specific to Exam and/or Licensure Application
- Instructions for Online Applications
- Instructions for Completing Supervised Experience Verification Forms
- Supervised Experience Verifications and other forms for the Exam and/or Licensure application
- Exam for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP) Resources
- EPPP and the Arizona Board
- How to Request Testing Accommodations for the EPPP
- FAQ-How to request an extension of time to sit for the EPPP (after approval to sit for the exam)
Go to the Applicant Portal to apply online to sit for the EPPP and/or Licensure
Supervised Temporary License - $200
If you have completed 1,500 hours supervised internship experience, had your doctoral degree in an applied psychology conferred, and are enrolled in a postdoctoral supervised experience program that meets the requirements in A.R.S. § 32-2071(G) you may qualify for a supervised temporary license. The supervised temporary license is optional and not required to participate in a postdoctoral supervised experience program per A.R.S. § 32-2075(A)(6).
- Please Note: The supervised temporary license IS NOT an independent license and DOES NOT LEAD to an independent license in Arizona. The supervised temporary license is issued under A.R.S. § 32-2073. The temporary license does not in any way or at any time transfer to an independent license. If in the future you wish to be licensed to practice independently as a psychologist in Arizona, you will need to apply anew, pay the $350 application fee and meet all requirements then in place.
Go to the Applicant Portal to apply online for the Supervised Temporary License and to sit for the EPPP
Psychologist Application for Licensure by Credential - $350
You do not have to live in Arizona to be licensed in Arizona with this application pathway. See the three types of credentials accepted by the Board when applying by credential, below.
- Issued under A.R.S. § 32-2071.01: Requirements for licensure; remediation; credentials
- For applicants who hold a credential recognized by the Arizona Board of Psychologist Examiners:
- American Board of Professional Psychology (ABPP) Satisfies requirements for education, training and EPPP score when applying for licensure by Credential.
- Certificate of Professional Qualification (CPQ) Satisfies requirements for education, training and EPPP score when applying for licensure by Credential.
- National Register of Health Service Psychologists (National Register or HSP) & licensed for 5 or more years. Satisfies requirements for education and training when applying for licensure by Credential. Must also have EPPP score(s) transferred to Arizona.
- Yes Answers to Declaration Questions: For the declaration questins in this application, if the answer is "yes", appropriate documentation is required. Please see the PDF "Appropriate Documentation for "Yes" Answers" for a list of the associated documentation or evidence that the applicant must submit to the Board if the applicant’s answer to the question is “yes”.
- For verifications of other state licensure, please provide the email address, [email protected], for electronic delivery.
- What you need to know about the application process
Go to the Applicant Portal to apply online for licensure by Credential.
Psychologist Application for Licensure by Universal Recognition - $350
You must be able to provide evidence that you have "established residence" in Arizona to use this application pathway.
On August 27, 2019 the Arizona Board of Psychologist Examiners began accepting applications for licensure by universal recognition. Arizona's universal recognition statute (A.R.S. § 32-4302) allows Arizona residents to use an out-of-state professional or occupational license to qualify for an Arizona license to work. To qualify, a psychologist applicant must:
- Prove that they have established residence in Arizona (See the Board's Substantive Policy Statement regarding this). You MUST establish residence in Arizona and be able to provide evidence of this. If you have not established residence in Arizona, or you answer NO to the statement, "I have established residence in Arizona", you DO NOT QUALIFY to apply for licensure using this application. If you have a recognized credential (ABPP, CPQ or National Register HSP) and have been licensed for 5 or more years in another state, use the Credential application. Otherwise, use the standard app, Psychologist Application for Exam and/or Licensure. All applications are available online via the applicant portal.
- Be currently licensed or certified for at least one year in another U.S. state or territory in the discipline applied for and at the same level of practice as recognized in Arizona.
- Be in good standing in all states where currently or previously licensed or certified. Verification is required directly from the licensing board to the AZ Board of Psychologist Examiners for all licenses or certifications ever held regardless of the status of the license or certification (e.g. active, inactive, expired, etc.). Verifications ordered from other states should be emailed from the respective boards to [email protected]. If your other licensing board has an online license verification which states it is a "primary source verification", Arizona will accept the online verification.
- Have met all applicable education, work, exam, and/or clinical supervision requirements in the other state where originally licensed or certified.
- Yes Answers for Declaration Questions: For declaration questions in this application, if the answer is "yes", appropriate documentation is required. Please see the PDF "Appropriate Documentation for Yes Answers" for a list of the associated documentation or evidence that the applicant must submit to the Board if the applicant’s answer to a declaration question is “yes”.
- Applications must be completed and submitted via the online Applicant Portal. Supporting documents not uploaded with the application may be emailed to [email protected].
- What you need to know about the application process
Go to the Applicant Portal to apply online for licensure by Universal Recognition
Telehealth Registry - $600 (no renewal fee)
The Board is now accepting Telehealth Registry online applications for out-of-state licensed psychologists and behavior analysts who are not licensed in Arizona and wish to provide healthcare services via telehealth to a client located in Arizona. This registration is for telehealth only, and is not a license. To apply, go to the Telehealth Registry site. This online application is shared with other boards and is not available through the Applicant Portal.
If you hold an Arizona license, you do not need to be registered in the Telehealth Registry to practice via telehealth into Arizona. An Arizona license authorizes the licensee to practice their profession in Arizona in person or via telehealth.
- The Registry is authorized by Title 36, Chapter 36.
- This registration IS NOT a license! Registrants are prohibited from practicing in person in Arizona without a full, independent license.
- Visit the online Telehealth Registry Application to apply. The application fee is $600.
- The registration does not need to be renewed. However, annual reporting is required.
- See A.R.S. § 36-3606 for detailed requirements.
Arizona Revised Statutes § 41-1080.01 provides for a waiver of application fees. This statute states:
A. … An agency shall waive any fee charged for an initial license for any of the following individuals if the individual is applying for that specific license in this state for the first time:
- Any individual applicant whose family income does not exceed two hundred percent of the federal poverty guidelines [please refer to the annual update of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Poverty Guidelines for 2021 and 2022)].
- Any active duty military service member's spouse.
- Any honorably discharged veteran who has been discharged not more than two years before application.
If you believe that you qualify for any of the above listed waivers, complete this online application and submit the appropriate documentation:
- For A.R.S. §41-1080.01(A)(1), a copy of your most recent federal tax return.
- For A.R.S. §41-1080.01(A)(2) or (3), documentation that establishes your eligibility.
DO NOT submit an online application for licensure until receiving notification that this fee waiver application has been approved or denied. You will be notified by email, which will include instructions for how to proceed.
Applications for Fee Waiver are generally processed within 7 business days. You will receive an email notification from the Board office that indicates whether the fee waiver is approved; do not submit your licensure application until you receive the email.